The Complete Idiots Guide to Fermenting Foods Review & Giveaway!

Do you ferment your own foods? Or are you looking to ferment some of your own foods?

I am so pleased with the release of my friend Wardeh from Gnowfglins newly published book, The Complete Idiots Guide To Fermenting Foods. I wasn’t sure what to expect, but it was so much more than I thought it would be. I know this will be a resource I will refer to for the rest of my life.

Just so you are all aware, I am not getting paid to do this review. I only review products I’m totally stoked on.

So, who is this book for?

Before I get into the book itself, I want to get into who this book is for. Those of you following a Traditional Diet, it’s a no brainer. You already know about the health benefits of fermented foods, and the benefits of building a healthy gut.

But what about the rest of the folks out there that don’t follow a Traditional Diet? There’s plenty in the book to entice those just getting into whole foods, like homemade ketchup, but also great recipes that will help you make healthy recipes that keep for several weeks and taste delicious.

If you follow a raw diet this is really fun too, because there are all kinds of chutneys, relishes, and preserved vegetables and fruits that are preserved through the fermentation process rather than traditional canning methods, using heat.

(I love that I can even use up veggies and fruit that are on their last legs in the fridge and give them a new extended life. No more wasted food!)

True to all “Idiots Guides,” this book is for newbies (experts will find this a useful resource too, so stay tuned if this is you). I know almost next to nothing about preserving through fermentation. But in one week I’ve already successfully made (that’s the most important) a batch of the yummiest smelling and tasting Carrot Chutney and Rhubarb Chutney ever.

For the beginner there are plenty of non-intimidating recipes and also ones that will enhance your cooking skills.

For those that have been already preserving for awhile, there are a ton of adventurous recipes to test your limits, everything from making beer to fermenting meats!

I just love that there’s so much here for me as I grow. She also covers how to create your own recipes and make changes to suit your tastes. It really is such an amazing resource.

But if you think fermenting is limited to relish, pickles and condiments such as rhubarb, you’re in for a big surprise! This book covers almost everything under the sun you can imagine preserving in this healthful, organic way.

In her 300 page book she covers a lot of information and hundreds of recipes. I won’t be able to cover them all so I’ll highlight a few to give you an idea.

In the Beginning

The first few chapters are all about introducing the newbie to the science of fermented foods, but also what to expect, what’s normal, what’s not, tools and theory. Very cool.

From the section on:

Fermenting Fruits of The Vine

This is the stuff you would expect, salsa, pickles, chutneys but the recipe range from traditional to unique. Try your hand at Kim-chi or Costa Rican Chilero if you want to venture into the exotic.

Fruit

This is a yummy section full of tasty preserves like Raspberry Mint Preserve, condiments like Mango Butter, and household staples such as Apple Sauce and Preserved Lemons (one of our favorites!)

Condiments

If you’re ready to give up those nasty store bought sauces full of additives, then you’ll get excited about making ketchup, fermented honey,  a variety of mustard’s, and even Spinach dip (yum).

Nonalcoholic Beverages

Make homemade sodas and kvass, coconut water (which you pay a lot for at your health food store) but also Snappy Tomato Juice and Lemonade that the kids will love.

Alcoholic Beverages

Here you can learn how to make healthy beer (yes, healthy, do I have your attention now?) such as Czech Porter, Scottish Ale or venture to the more adventurous and make Chocolate Lavender Ale and Nettle Lemon Beer.

Beans and Grains

There’s a section on beans. I would have never thought to use the fermentation process to make delicious dips, but there they are.  There’s a section on Grains, otherwise referred to as sourdough. You can pay a lot just to learn how to make sourdough and this is just yet another one of the super helpful sections.  Recipes here include (but not limited to) Breads, Crepes, Waffles, Decadent Brownies, Pizza Crust and Crackers. I forgot to mention decadent chocolate sourdough cake….

Cultured Dairy

This sections covers everything from Butter and Sour Cream to Kefir and Villi Yogurt.

Simple Cheeses

This is the section I’m most excited about. I can’t wait to make Cream Cheese, Feta or Middle Eastern Hard, Fresh Cheese. She even supplements the cheese section with almost a dozen recipes for using the cheese (if you needed ideas!).

Fermented Meat

Lastly she covers fermented meats. I still need some time to get cozy with that, but if you’re ready for it, then there is a ton of information.

Today chutney, tomorrow cheese and sometime in the future meat. Just because I’m not super confident, I’d be lying if I said the recipes didn’t totally sound yummy. She has sausage recipes, some for fish and a bunch for things like corned beef.

Ready to start fermenting your own foods?

If you’ve been intrigued by fermenting foods (I know a lot of the websites out there are talking about it), or are just getting started, this is an invaluable resource. In true Idiots Guide fashion, everything you need to learn about fermentation is in one place, using simple language to make learning something new as easy as possible.

I’m going to share Wardeh’s, super simple Carrot Chutney that smells so good that if you ever had doubts about letting food ferment to create delicious tasting food, this will change your mind.

Click here to check out a sample of The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Fermenting Foods or to grab your copy!

I made a few adjustments simply because I didn’t have a few of the ingredients, but I also don’t want to give away all her delicious recipes…so for the original you’ll have to invest in this fab resource.

Carrot Chutney

(20 minutes prep time)

  • 1/2 cup raisins
  • 1 cup water
  • 3 cups of tightly packed grated carrot
  • 1 chopped apple (original recipe calls for cranberries)
  • 1/2 chopped walnuts
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup whey
  • pinch of all spice
  • 1 inch ginger root, shredded
  • 2 Tbsp unrefined sugar

In a small bowl, combine raisins with enough water to cover. Allow to sit for 15 minutes, then drain and squeeze out any excess water.

Combine raisins, carrots, apples, walnuts, salt, whey, all spice, ginger, and sugar in a large bowl. Mash with a potato masher to release the carrot juices. Transfer to a wide-mouth jar, or other fermenting container. Pack down to at least 1 ” below the rim of the container. Cover tightly with lid or airlock. Leave at room temperature for 3 to 5 day. Burp the jar once a day. Transfer to cool storage.

Click here to check out a sample of The Complete Idiot’s Guide to Fermenting Foods or to grab your copy!

 

For the Giveaway

Wardeh has generously donated one copy of her new book, The Complete Idiots Guide To Fermenting Foods, to giveaway to you guys! We are not using Rafflecopter again because it doesn’t seem to like to work with our site :( So we’re going to be kicking it old school! :)

There are 4 ways to enter, and the more you do the more entries you get, up to a total of 4! 

The 4 ways to enter are:

1. Sign up for the Gnowfglins Newsletter
2. “Like” Gnowfglins on Facebook
3. Sign up for blog updates on Beyond The Peel (the form is below)
4. “Like” Beyond The Peel on Facebook

Leave a comment in the comment section saying what entries you have completed and we will enter your name into the draw. We will be using random.org to make the draw. This draw is open to anyone in Canada or the US. The giveaway ends at 11:59pm on Friday June 29th, 2012. The winner will be announced on Sunday, July 1st.

Here’s the form to sign up for our blog updates:

Can’t wait for the giveaway? Click here to grab your copy of The Complete Idiot’s Guide To Fermenting Foods!

 

Disclosure: I am an affiliate for many of the links on our site, which means that I receive a small commission if you buy through them. This does not affect your price and it helps support this site so I can continue to give you great content. Thank you for your support!

I’m sharing this with Mangia Mondays, Monday Mania, My Meatless Mondays, Slightly Indulgent Tuesday, Tasty Tuesday, A Little Birdie Told Me, Fat Tuesday, This Chick Cooks, Cast Party Wednesday, Allergy Free Wednesday, The Tasty Alternative, What’s Cooking Wednesday, Real Food Wednesday, Simple Lives Thursday, Full Plate Thursday, Friday Food Flicks, Fight Back Friday, and Foodie Friday.

91 Responses to The Complete Idiots Guide to Fermenting Foods Review & Giveaway!

  1. Crystal Stinson June 24, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Hello, 
    I did 3 of the 4 items on the list to get entered in to the draw for the book.  I didn’t do the other one because I was already a fan of beyond the peel on facebook.  Does that count as another entry? i think it should! LOL 
    cheers
    Crystal 

  2. Jill June 24, 2012 at 7:55 pm #

    I get GNOWFGLINS newsletter.

  3. The Unexpected Homesteader June 24, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m already a fan of both pages on FB (Laura Wray), and already receive both GNOWFGLINS’ newsletter and Beyond the Peel’s blog updates. :)

    Thanks for offering the chance for us to win this book! 😀

  4. The Unexpected Homesteader June 24, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I’m already a fan of both pages on FB (Laura Wray), and already receive both GNOWFGLINS’ newsletter and Beyond the Peel’s blog updates. :)

    Thanks for offering the chance for us to win this book! 😀

  5. Jeanie June 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm #

    I subcribe to you and did the other three entries:)

  6. Marianne June 24, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

    I “LIKED” both pages on Facebook and am signed up for both GNOWFGLINS newsletter and Beyond the Peel blog updates.

  7. Cheryl June 24, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    I liked Beyond the Peel on facebook!

  8. Kristi@LetThisMindBeinYou June 24, 2012 at 9:18 pm #

    I am currently a subscriber to Gnowfglins and now your blog, and I also ‘liked’ your page on FB and already have Wardeh’s page ‘liked’. :)

    Yay! 4 Entries! Thanks for doing this giveaway! I’d love to have a copy of this book!

  9. Chris June 24, 2012 at 9:25 pm #

    I am signed up for both newsletters and have liked both on face book
    Would love to get the book
    Great stuff

  10. Regina June 24, 2012 at 10:02 pm #

    I am signed up for both newsletters and liked both on facebook.  Thank you for a great giveaway!
    Regina

  11. Jenlynnkel June 24, 2012 at 11:16 pm #

    I already am signed up for Gnowfglins and Beyond the Peel newsletters an blog updates. Thanks for the opportunity to possibly win a copy of this awesome book.

  12. Timnamy June 24, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

    Joined newsletter

  13. Cathy Schiffman June 25, 2012 at 12:35 am #

    I am an email subscriber to Gnowfglins. Thank you!

  14. Cathy Schiffman June 25, 2012 at 12:36 am #

    I am a Beyond the Peel subscriber. Thank you!

  15. Loretta June 25, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    I signed up for the gnowFglins newsletter.

  16. Loretta June 25, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    I also like gnowfglins on fb.

  17. Loretta June 25, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    I’m also a subscriber to your newsletter

  18. Loretta June 25, 2012 at 12:40 am #

    I like you on fb, too!

  19. Hallpatty24 June 25, 2012 at 12:43 am #

    I am signed up to receive Gnowfglins newletter and Beyond The Peel Newsletter,. I also “like” Gnowfglins on facebook

  20. Kat June 25, 2012 at 1:37 am #

    I already have this book and I have been fermenting for a couple years and I will say “this book rocks!” I just have a question- What do you eat with the carrot chutney? I sometimes have a hard time with that. We like fruit chutneys on porridge and eat some with fish.  Although the carrots sounds yummy I’m not sure what to do with it!

    • beyondthepeel June 25, 2012 at 6:29 pm #

      Kat it goes great with Indian food! Rice, daal or naan bread work well with it. Also, you can jazz up a burger with it!

    • beyondthepeel June 25, 2012 at 11:51 pm #

      I like to serve it with Indian curries and fish. Have a great day Kat.

  21. feetofclay1678 June 25, 2012 at 1:43 am #

    I get the GNOWFGLINS newsletter!

    Chelsea Wipf
    feetofclay1678@hotmail.com

  22. feetofclay1678 June 25, 2012 at 1:44 am #

    i like GNOWFGLINS on facebook.

    Chelsea Wipf
    feetofclay1678@hotmail:disqus 

  23. feetofclay1678 June 25, 2012 at 1:45 am #

    i like you on facebook.

     Chelsea Wipf
    feetofclay1678@hotmail.com

  24. feetofclay1678 June 25, 2012 at 1:46 am #

    I get your updates.

    Chelsea Wipf
    feetofclay1678@hotmail.com

  25. Johnmglen June 25, 2012 at 1:50 am #

    Signed up for blog updates. Liked gnowfglins on fb and liked beyond the peel on fb. Book looks awesome!

  26. Martha June 25, 2012 at 2:53 am #

    Signed up blog updates and LIKED Beyond the Peel on FB  think the book would be interesting!!

  27. angel sweetpea June 25, 2012 at 3:55 am #

    I liked beyond the peel on fb, signed up for blog updates, liked Gnowfglins on fb was already signed up for her newsletter

  28. Macy12 June 25, 2012 at 4:34 am #

    I liked beyond the peel on fb, am already signed up for your blog updates, liked Gnowfglins on fb and received her newsletter.  Thank you!!

  29. Stacey June 25, 2012 at 4:40 am #

    I have liked both on Facebook

  30. Ashley June 25, 2012 at 5:58 am #

    I like you on FB!

  31. Ashley June 25, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    I lik GNOWFGLINS on FB!

  32. Ashley June 25, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    I signed up for GNOWWFGLINS newsletter

  33. Ashley June 25, 2012 at 5:59 am #

    I get your blog updates!

  34. Marcella F June 25, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    I am already signed up for GNOWGFLINS newsletter

  35. Marcella F June 25, 2012 at 8:47 am #

    I like GNOWGFLINS on FB.

  36. Marcella F June 25, 2012 at 8:48 am #

    I receive your blog updates via email.

  37. Marcella F June 25, 2012 at 8:49 am #

    I “like” Beyond the Peel on FB

  38. Clare Jones June 25, 2012 at 1:17 pm #

    Liked Beyond the Peel on FB

  39. Brianne M June 25, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    I like Beyond the Peel on facebook

  40. Brianne M June 25, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    I like GNOWGFLINS on facebook

  41. Brianne M June 25, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    I am signed up for your blog updates

  42. Jamie English June 25, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    I am signed up for your blog updates

  43. Jamie English June 25, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I get the GNOWGFLINS newsletter

  44. Jamie English June 25, 2012 at 1:24 pm #

    I liked GNOWGFLINS on Facebook

  45. Jamie English June 25, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    I liked Beyond the Peel on Facebook

  46. Carlac June 25, 2012 at 5:14 pm #

    So if you’ve already done all three you aren’t eligible?

    • beyondthepeel June 25, 2012 at 6:23 pm #

      You’re eligible!

  47. Jules June 25, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    I like GNOWFGLINS  on FB

  48. Jules June 25, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    I subscribed to the GNOWFGLINS Newsletter

  49. Jules June 25, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    I am already signed up for the Beyond The Peel updates

  50. Amanda Klenner-Labrow June 25, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    I get blog updates from beyond the peel

  51. Amanda Klenner-Labrow June 25, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I like beyond the peel on FB

  52. Amanda Klenner-Labrow June 25, 2012 at 7:53 pm #

    I like gnowflings? on fb

  53. Sue heumann June 25, 2012 at 8:10 pm #

    I just ‘liked’ ‘gnowflflins’ and ‘Beyond the Peel’on FB, and signed up for the gnowflglins newsletter….already was subscribed to Beyond the Peel Newsletter…… I LOVE learning about fermenting and nutritional foods ~ there is just not enough time in the day to read and do it all………but I make a good effort!

  54. Emily M. June 25, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

    I signed up for gnowfglins newsletter.

  55. Emily M. June 25, 2012 at 8:23 pm #

    I signed up for your blog updates.

  56. Marg June 25, 2012 at 8:45 pm #

    What if I already do # 1, 2 and 4?  I’ve signed up for #3!

    • beyondthepeel June 26, 2012 at 5:27 pm #

       Just let us know and will enter you 4 times!  (like you’ve done) Thanks Marg for your support.

  57. Char June 25, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I have signed up for both newsletter & liked both Gnowfglins & Beyond the Peel on Facebook. Actually already followed you all there. I love your work!

    • beyondthepeel June 26, 2012 at 5:29 pm #

       Thanks for being part of our community Char.

  58. Carm June 25, 2012 at 8:55 pm #

    Already did all four!!!

  59. Lora O June 26, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    I am signed up for all four!!  You guys are the best :)

  60. Anastasia June 26, 2012 at 5:08 pm #

    I did all 4! Yay for fermenting!

  61. Bridget June 27, 2012 at 12:44 am #

    I completed the following:
     “Like” Gnowfglins on Facebook Sign up for blog updates on Beyond The Peel (the form is below) “Like” Beyond The Peel on Facebook

    THANKS!!

  62. Rhonda Rogalski June 27, 2012 at 2:21 am #

    I completed all 4! I’m very excited about the chance to win this book. It is high on my “must have” list. I’ve learned to do my own fermented sauerkraut and sour cream but I really do need a fabulous resource like this to try my hand at many other recipes. Thanks to you and Wardeh for the chance!

  63. Janaharrington June 27, 2012 at 3:36 am #

    Hi! I’ve already completed the 4 ways to enter:

    1. I’ve signed up for the Gnowfglins Newsletter
    2. I “like” Gnowfglins on Facebook
    3. I get the blog updates on Beyond the Peel
    4. and I’ve liked “Beyond the Peel” on Facebook.  

    SO TOTALLY EXCITED for this giveaway!  I hope I win!!! 😀
    Thank you!!
    Jana Harrington

  64. Wlmich50 June 27, 2012 at 12:03 pm #

    What a fabulous giveaway! I liked Gnowfglins and Beyond the Pell on Facebook as well as signed up for Beyond the Peel’s newsletter

  65. Ashley Smyth Srokosz June 27, 2012 at 3:45 pm #

    Hi Josh and France,

    I signed up for the Gnowfglins newsletter and liked them on Facebook, and I already get your blog updates and have like you on Facebook.  Can’t wait to get their first newsletter, and start making some fermented foods!

  66. phoward336 June 27, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    I liked Gnowfglins

  67. phoward336 June 27, 2012 at 6:00 pm #

    I liked Beyond the Peel

  68. phoward336 June 27, 2012 at 6:01 pm #

    I signed up for the blog updates!

  69. Maureen June 27, 2012 at 8:48 pm #

    I did/or have already done all four of the requirements. Hurray for fermented food!

  70. Kathy June 27, 2012 at 10:30 pm #

    I have done all four of the requirements! I hope I win, I’ve been eyeing that book!

  71. Janellemlopez June 27, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    I signed up for the newsletter

  72. Janellemlopez June 27, 2012 at 11:47 pm #

    I liked gnowflgins on Facebook

  73. Dash2700 June 28, 2012 at 2:44 am #

    keep up the great work! awesome to see your business helping so many……love the fermenting concept.  i did sign up for the newsletter and like on the facebook.  please enter me in the draws. I plan to try the sauerkraut in the sealer jar it must be a good start.
    thanks again

    • beyondthepeel June 28, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

      Let us know how your sauerkraut turns out!

  74. Kirstin Pilkey June 28, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    I like GNOWGLINS on facebook

  75. Kirstin Pilkey June 28, 2012 at 6:55 pm #

    I am signed up for gnowfglins newsletter

  76. Kirstin Pilkey June 28, 2012 at 6:56 pm #

    I am signed up for Beyond the Peel’s blog updates

  77. Deborah King June 29, 2012 at 4:49 am #

    I’ve signed up for all 4 things. I have a copy of the book from the library right now and I really want my own copy!

  78. Lisam1991 June 29, 2012 at 6:40 am #

    I already subscribe to GNOWFGLINS, like them on facebook, and I liked you on facebook too, so that’s three entries.  Thanks!  :)

  79. Katie June 29, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    I liked Beyond the Peel :)

  80. Katie June 29, 2012 at 11:13 am #

    Liked GNOWFLGINS

  81. Katie June 29, 2012 at 11:14 am #

    Already a newsletter subscriber for Beyond the Peel

  82. Foxfam3 June 30, 2012 at 2:14 am #

    Hi, I already subscribe to gnowfingers and did the other 3! I have only just begun with fermenting and would love to have a book for ideas and inspiration!

  83. Monica Leal December 27, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

    I scoured the reviews on amazon.com, trying to find the best books on pickling. Much to my dismay, after buying several, I discovered that they were all about vinegar pickling and not fermenting! The I found the Idiot’s Guide to Fermenting. WOW!!! It’s exactly what I was looking for!! It’s got amazing recipes and they are ALL fermented! This is the REAL DEAL!!! Then I also found Wild Fermentation and The Art of Fermentation, both by Sandor Ellix Katz, which, together, offer deeper explanations about fermenting. These 3 books form a complete fermenting library.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tropical Traditions Gold Label Virgin Coconut Oil Giveaway Winner | beyondthepeel.net - June 26, 2012

    […] If you didn’t win, then make sure you get entered to win a copy of The Complete Idiot’s Guide To Fermenting Foods. You can get entered right here! […]

  2. Whole Food Wednesday - Chipotle Corn and Zucchini Salad | beyondthepeel.net - June 27, 2012

    […] If you haven’t entered to win a copy of The Complete Idiot’s Guide To Fermenting Food, you can enter the giveaway right here! […]

Website & Logo design by ohksocialmedia.